Opportunity (Why I Love IABC Toronto)


My new post for the official blog of the Toronto Chapter of the International Association of Business Communicators has been posted. In this piece, I discuss the value of being an IABC member and why blogging in general is a worthwhile endeavour on both a professional and personal level.

You can read the entire piece here. Below is an excerpt:

The greatest source of opportunity that IABC has provided, however, and what I truly love most about being a member, is the simple privilege of posting to this blog. As someone passionate about writing, it’s invaluable to have an outlet to share ideas and content that will be viewed by an audience of experienced communicators. This blog has given me the opportunity to sharpen my writing skills while gaining exposure and legitimate experience by publishing my writing on a reputable platform.

I know the results of my efforts on this blog have been worthwhile. When I began an internship at the beginning of this year that I recently completed, my manager was clear that my writing on this blog influenced my selection for the position. At every event I attend, my nametag almost always rings a bell among fellow attendees because of my writing on this blog. I can also say honestly that contributing here has helped me grow as a writer.

It’s no secret that potential employers are looking for enthusiasm and initiative. Giving them something beyond an application, cover letter, or CV is key to showing that you not only talk the talk, but also walk the walk. This is precisely why IABC Toronto, and this blog in particular, is so valuable to young aspiring communicators. Here you have the opportunity to share your ideas and knowledge through your writing.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • RSS Subscribe via RSS

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Search Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • My Twitter Feed

