Proust Questionnaire (Getting to Know You)


The Proust Questionnaire, though not invented by Marcel Proust, was popularized when the author offered answers to the questionnaire. Proust supposedly believed that in answering these questions, an individual revealed their true nature. As far as I’m concerned, they’re just harmless fun and a good way to get to know someone. I figured that as much as I focus on matters of politics, literature, culture, sports, etc. on this blog, it might be good for my tens of readers to get to know who was writing these things. Please, though, let’s not take this exercise or the answers too seriously.

More serious writing to follow soon.

Here we go…

1. What is your idea of perfect happiness?

A handful of friends conversing over a home cooked meal.

2. What is your greatest fear?

The chupacabra.

3. What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

Talking too much.

4. What is the trait you most deplore in others?

Talking too much.

5. Which living person do you most admire?

David Suzuki comes to mind.

6. What is your greatest extravagance?

Tea. Aside from the fact that I consume well above the average amount for a human, I’m constantly chasing down different kinds to sample.

 7. What is your current state of mind?

Mostly content and cautiously optimistic where the future is concerned in addition to thinking about food, as I do perpetually.

8. What do you consider the most overrated virtue?

Beauty.

9. On what occasion do you lie?

In order to escape having to attend social occasions.

10. What do you most dislike about your appearance?

My diminutive stature, though I’ve mostly come to terms with it.

11. Which living person do you most despise?

Drivers who roll down their windows and stop me to ask for directions while I’m running.

12. What is the quality you most like in a man?

Curiosity, open-mindedness, and the refusal to take themselves too seriously.

13. What is the quality you most like in a woman?

Same as the ones I admire in a man.

14. Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

“The thing is…”

“Well, you know…”

15. What or who is the greatest love of your life?

Writing.

16. When and where were you happiest?

Anywhere and any time that I’m putting pen to paper (or the digital equivalent).

17. Which talent would you most like to have?

Superior mathematical abilities.

18. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I would change my physiology so that beer would be good for me.

19. What do you consider your greatest achievement?

I once solved a Rubik’s Cube.

20. If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be?

Joe Pesci.

21. Where would you most like to live?

Above a good Chinese restaurant and below another good Chinese restaurant and across the street from a good shawarma place.

22. What is your most treasured possession?

I suppose my piano, at least as far as material things go. I really don’t own a lot of things to be truthful.

23. What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

Having to face my day to day life without the aid of friends or family.

24. What is your favorite occupation?

Prizefighting.

25. What is your most marked characteristic?

My inability to sit still for extended periods of time.

26. What do you most value in your friends?

Their willingness to listen to my endless rambling, among many other things.

27. Who are your favorite writers?

Philip Roth, Charles Dickens, Clive Barker, Hermann Hesse, Jose Saramago, Christopher Hitchens, Henry Miller, Ernest Hemingway, Kurt Vonnegut, George Orwell. I think that’s enough for now.

28. Who is your hero of fiction?

At the moment I’ve developed quite an affection for Tyrion Lannister, though most would probably contend that he is not a hero.

29. Which historical figure do you most identify with?

For his level-headedness in the face of chaos, Obi-Wan Kenobi.

30. Who are your heroes in real life?

Those who put their lives on the line against an oppressive regime or government.

31. What are your favorite names?

Charlie, Melanie, and Ebenezer.

32. What is it that you most dislike?

Unnecessary and excessive noise and chatter.

33. What is your greatest regret?

Not being adopted by Brad and Angelina.

34. How would you like to die?

Having seen the Toronto Maple Leafs win a Stanley Cup.

35. What is your motto?

You gotta give ’em hope.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • RSS Subscribe via RSS

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Search Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • My Twitter Feed

    • Toronto’s councillors bury themselves in Scarborough’s subway: Keenan thestar.com/news/city_hall… via @torontostar 1 hour ago
    • I think the only words I spoke to another human this weekend were, "Americano, please." I also said thank you. It was glorious. 1 day ago
    • I'm surprisingly not having any FOMO about Around the Bay tomorrow. I have other goals this year that this race just doesn't play into. 3 days ago
